Skip to content

The CAJ team

Everything that CAJ achieves is made possible by the generous support from our funders and the hard work of our staff and the members of our Executive.

Our funders

CAJ is one of four organisations in the Human Rights Partnership, together with the Public Interest Litigation Support Project (PILS), the Human Rights Consortium, and Participation and Practice of Rights (PPR).

CAJ is supported by the Human Rights Fund, a dedicated fund managed by the Community Foundation Northern Ireland which was originally established by Atlantic Philanthropies. CAJ is also very grateful for the funding support of: the Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust, the Paul Hamlyn Foundation, the Legal Education Foundation, the AB Charitable Trust, Unbound Philanthropy, UNISON Campaign Fund, Community Foundation Ireland, Community Foundation for Northern Ireland, and Esmée Fairbairn Foundation.

We have been awarded the Reebok Human Rights Award and the Council of Europe Human Rights Prize (pictured right) and the Advancing Racial Justice and Fairness Award.

Council of Europe Human Rights Prize awarded to CAJ


Daniel Holder, Director

Gemma McKeown, Solicitor

Roisin Brennan, Office and Finance Manager,

Úna Boyd, Immigration Solicitor

Eliza Browning, Senior Policy Officer

Dara Keeve, Policy Officer

Shannon Doherty, Project Research and Campaigns Worker


Anna Bryson, Chairperson

Rory O’Connell, Vice-Chair

Fionnuala Ni Aolain, Editor of Just News

Chris McCartin, Treasurer

Louise Mallinder

Cathy Bollaert

Anurag Deb

Kieran McEvoy

Dáire McGill

Ciarán Ó Maoláin

Anne Smith

Colin Murray